Band Spotlight: Within Temptation

Founded by singer Sharon Den Adel and guitarist Robert Westerholt in 1995, this Dutch metal band became another pioneer for gothic/symphonic metal in the later 1990’s, following alongside bands like Nightwish and Lacuna Coil. Sharon has even said that she considers the band more a symphonic metal band over time.

They really emerged from the underground music scene when their song “Ice Queen” (Mother Earth album) reached to No. 2 on the Dutch charts. Following that, they won the Dutch Buma Export Award four years consecutively, with a fifth in 2016. Their songs have continued to spread all over the world, with their Heart of Everything album reaching No. 1 in 2007 and selling over 3.5 million copies worldwide.

While they’re in the same category as Nightwish, Within Temptation doesn’t sound too much like the legendary Finnish band. Within Temptation is a band tends to defy music stereotypes. They’ve had elements of doom metal, gothic metal, old school fantasy atmosphere and thrashing riffs over their 22 year career. Singer Sharon has never had formal training! The front woman taught herself singing, apart from a short time singing in a choir. Her praciting ranged from three or four hours a day and has a great, resonating mezzo-soprano range.

If you’re a fan of Nightwish, definitely give this band a try. They’re always changing their sound and concept of their albums. They’ve done concept albums The Unforgiving (2011), a Celtic sounding album Mother Earth (2000) to a a mix of melodic and lush symphonic metal albums. Here’s a few videos, along with their discography linked below. If you’re a fan, please let me know and tell me what your favorite album/song is!

discography:

  • Enter (1997)
  • Mother Earth (2000)
  • The Silent Force (2004)
  • The Heart of Everything (2007)
  • The Unforgiving (2011)
  • Hydra (2014)
8 Comments Add yours

  1. I was lucky living in the US to get to see Within Temptation live a few years ago. I have to say, though, that The Silent Force is my favorite album. I always find myself trying to sing along with Jillian and failing miserably. Sharon’s voice is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice! I’m so jealous! I’m hoping they’ll be able to tour the US more in future years. I love that song too 🙂 It was one of the first ones I ever heard by them

      Like

  2. Within Temptation is, certainly, a wonderful band: atmospheric, moody and enchanting. My favourite song is, most definitely, Utopia. The underlying sadness mingled with a faint hope is beautifully captured

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only heard a sample of that one. I’ll listen to the whole thing sometime. Right? I’ve always liked them. Although I wonder when their next album will be?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. likewise, it has been a while. is there any talk about a next album?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I haven’t seen much yet sadly. But I’m trying to patiently wait for more news 🙂

        Like

      3. hopefully some news will come soon; as we wait, at least there’s their old tracks that are always worth listening to over and over

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Definitely. I saw rumors the other day that they’re working on new stuff…it’s just taking a bit.

        Like

Leave a Reply

