First Ever Book Haul!

The thought of buying books…holding them, looking at them and bringing them home is one of the best feelings ever. We all go through phases where we want to storm into Barnes & Noble or a beloved, independent book store and demand them to take our money before they say “hi.” There’s nothing like extending our library and even walking through the isles and seeing what’s out.

These are all the books I’ve bought in 2017 (Jan-middle of March). I’ve read almost all of them and can’t read to the other ones. I’ll mark which ones I have read, where I bought them and give a max of three sentences to describe the story 🙂

All my 2017 purchases

*Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones: Lisle is a young woman living in a time where her composing talents are ignored and her younger brother, a violin protege is taken far more seriously. But when her sister eats a goblin fruit, Lisle goes into the underworld to find both her sister and confront the Goblin King. I read this on NetGalley way back in October 2016, but after a a re-read, a full review will be posted in the future.

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu: (B&N): From extraterrestrial civilizations, how different spices write and tell stories to paper origami animals, this compilation of Liu’s stories have won awards and stolen people’s hearts. After hearing Kitty G on Booktube rave about this short story collection, I read the first story as a Kindle sample. It was unlike any fantasy short story I’d read. So I went and used a gift card to buy this paperback edition and it’s on my top “want to read” diverse books this year 🙂

Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken: (B&N): This popular duology has made the rounds on Booktube since this book’s early 2016 release. I had heard mixed reviews about Alexandra Bracken in general, but that didn’t stop me. I gave in one day and bought the paperback copy, after being impressed of reading random passages. I’ve started reading it and can’t wait to see what I think 🙂

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin: (B&N): Set in a walled city, similar to the famous city in China, three teenagers are trying to survive in a brutal, unforgiving walled community. One disguises as a boy, one wants to help her sister and one just wants to keep his head down. I had heard good things about this standalone novel from people who don’t read a lot of YA and I randomly decided to pick it up. This will be my first by Ryan Graudin and I plan to read it sometime this year.

*Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1) by Tricia Levenseller: (B&N):

Alosa allows herself to be taken prisoner on the dreaded ship Night Farer in order to steal a piece of a legendary map, leading to a treasure filled island. She’s the daughter of the feared Pirate King and won’t let anyone stand in her way. I’ve reviewed this book very recently and I will be donating it to my library because I didn’t enjoy this book.

Daughter of the Pirate King book review

* Roseblood by A.G. Howard (B&N): Rune has a beautiful but mysterious and harmful gift. Her mother takes her to France to a Parisian boarding school that both has ties to the Phantom of the Opera story and possibly answers to her gift.I had gotten this from my library after it’s release and I really enjoyed it! I bought my own copy a week or so later. I will be doing a full review on this after a re-read. If you love anything Phantom of the Opera, you need to pick this up!

*Caraval (Caraval #1) by Stephanie Garber: (Amazon, pre-order): Scarlett and Tella have always wished to escape their father and go to the magical Caraval. But when the sisters get there, their expectations are met with darker intentions. I had read a sample way back in fall 2016 and loved the fist 5 chapters. So I pre-ordered it and couldn’t wait to get it. My review is linked below so you can see my full thoughts.

Caraval Review

* The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon: (Book Depository, UK hardcover): In the year 2059, Paige lives with a  notorious clairvoyant crime syndicate in London. But after defending herself on a train ride, she’s taken to a place that challenges beliefs and her gift. I originally bought a paperback version of this book while on vacation but loved it so much that I wanted the hardcover. Since the original artwork will be only released in hardback, I wanted to start the trend now. Here’s my review:

Bone Season book review

**The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2) by Samantha Shannon (Amazon): I’m currently reading this, so I won’t give a synopsis if you haven’t read the first book. But this second novel takes place directly after the first one and starts to make you feel the building dread and fear of the future of the series. I also found this hardback for a cheaper price on Amazon, so it wasn’t hard to add it to my library 🙂

*The Song Rising (The Bone Season #3) by Samantha Shannon (Amazon): I’ve been preventing myself to know ANY details of the series past where I’m at in The Mime Order so I’m anxiously biding my time to pick this one up. I was able to find the link to buy this original artwork edition through the author’s website since I really don’t like the cover change for this new book. But man, this series is beautifully detailed, creative and packed with very flawed but human characters and great magic system of clairvoyance.

** = currently reading

*= already read

There’s my book haul guys! Let me know what you’ve bought recently, if you’ve read this books and what you thought of them. Have a great day guys!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Great Haul! You’ve got some really great books in that stack. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

