Top 5 SFF Books on my TBR!

*Booktube SFF Babbles topic*

As fantasy readers, we’re always looking for books to take us away to places of magic, swords and different creatures. There’s a new debut novel, a series to continue or an author we’ve been neglecting. These picks I chose for this top 5 Wednesday/SFF babbles topic are books I haven’t mentioned in any of the top 5 topics. It’s nice to mix it up and remind myself what books I need to get to sooner than later. These aren’t in any order 🙂

1. cold days by jim butcher (dresden files #14)

12216302

I’v been loving this further storyarc in this urban fantasy series. Harry Dresden is really getting in some deep crap and some harsh truths are coming to light. Since the situation of the previous book Ghost Story gave me some tantalizing character moments and plot twists that I can’t wait to listen to this next volume.

2. curio by evangeline denmark

25309770

I heard about this book on two Booktube channels last year and the sound of a curio cabinet coming alive and some alchemy made me pick it up when it was released. It’s been sitting on my shelf for almost  year and I need to get to it. I can’t tell if this is a standalone and an e-book prequel only, but I’m curious to see how this book combines some steampunk and magic.

3. the hero and the crown by robin mckinley

23377522

This 1984 novel not only won the Newberry Award, but cemented McKinley’s legacy as an influential author. Authors I love like Garth Nix have always talked about how amazing this woman is. I read her Beauty and the Beast retelling Beauty 10  years ago and haven’t read anything sense. It’s about a young woman named Aerin who feels like an outcast in her father’s court.

After finding a dragon fire-proof ointment in her father’s library, she begins using it on someone who reports of a dragon harassing an outside village. It sounds like a great story of a young woman who works hard and ends up finding a defining opportunity in her life.

4. goldenhand by garth nix (old kingdom #5)

23302838

This is a book that I am ashamed that I haven’t finished it since it came out in fall of last year. This series has such a special place in my heart since I was 12. I had started it soon after my husband finished it, but I don’t know whether I wasn’t in a reading mood or too busy. I put it down and need to pick it back up. I need to know what happens to Lirael and Nicholas on this new adventure!

5. the wish granter by c.j. redwine

30255943

This Rumpelstiltskin retelling has been on my radar since I heard about it briefly somewhere on Booktube. Then, I found out that it was narrated by Khristine Hvam who narrated the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. Khristine Hvam is one of my favorite audio book narrators and I’ve been waiting for it to become available at the library. All I know is that it’s about two bastard siblings who wish to take down Alastair, whose the Wish Granter. Since I’ve never read this kind of retelling story, I’m crossing my fingers that it’s good.

There you have it. Obviously, the TBR pile is forever long as we seek new fantasy books to read. What are some you’re wanting to read? I’m always curious to see people’s picks and priorities. If you’ve read this books, do let me know. Perhaps that might persuade me to pick up one over the other 🙂 Have a great day guys!

Leave a Reply

