T5W: Authors You Want to Read More From

With an infinite list of books to be read, sometimes it’s hard to remember which author you want to read. Whether they just have three books, or years of previous works, it’s easy for them to get lost in the stacks of your thoughts. But this topic might help us remember which authors we really enjoyed their books and need more from. These aren’t in any order for me. I’m also only listing up the top books (max of 5) that I want to read next, even though they might have published more than that.

1. robin mckinley

This influential fantasy writer has been mentioned in a previous Wednesday topic. Her Newberry award winning book The Hero and the Crown is on my TBR to read very soon. She’s actually the favorite author of a newer co-worker of mine, who has read practically all of McKinley’s work. She’s also quoted very often by author Garth Nix as being a major inspiration early in his career. I’ve only read her 1978 debut novel Beauty back in high school and that needs to be fixed.

Works I want to read next:

76348141423809123377522

2. terry brooks

If you’ve read adult fantasy, you may have either seen the Shannara books on the book store shelves, heard of the MTV TV series or seen him blurb other fantasy authors. This guy has been a keystone in adult fantasy for 40 years, since his debut novel The Sword of Shannara. I read its 1982 sequel The Elfstones of Shannara along with Sabriel when I was 12 and those got me into fantasy books when I was younger. I’ve also read his Running with the Demon trilogy and really loved it. I also love the MTV series and how it’s handled the Shannara world. Luckily, he has such a huge stack of backlist releases that I don’t have to worry about running out of stuff to read 🙂

Works to read next:

583482155496620182603211

3. neil gaiman

After stumbling upon his 2014 release The Ocean at the End of the Lane, I felt that I found something very special after reading the first chapter. Since I read that book, I still remember how quietly creepy it was and Gaiman’s skill to weave a great story. Sadly, that’s the only thing I’ve read by him. But since my best friend has been reading more of his short works and telling me about them, it’s rekindled that appetite for tight writing, cool twists on mythology and the right amount of creepiness.

Works to read next:

22136611449737395130831912

4. cornelia funke

This German writer had me enchanted as a teenager when I read her Inkheart trilogy (do not watch the movie…we don’t discuss that) and I’ve put her other books off for far too long. She always seem to be very original and doesn’t follow popular tropes and types of stories, which is nice to see.

Works to read next:

11330432494578786255

5. Garth nix

If you’re new to my blog, I love Garth Nix’s work. His Old Kingdom has a very special place in my heart. But while I do love that series, I haven’t really dived into his other works much. (Which sounds really bad…) But he never fails to bring out great premises with great and fun writing. My goal is read more of him this year 🙂

Works to read next:

2973623112892553233028384443491345801347643

Here’s yet another list lol. This was great to see how many authors I need get back to. Hopefully this helped you guys if you’ve been trying to either remember an author’s name, or a series you’ve been dying to get back to. Let me know if you’ve any of these books, have questions or if you’re interested in any of these authors. I highly recommend all of them 🙂 Have a great day guys!

21 Comments Add yours

  1. The only book I’ve read by Robin McKinley was Sunshine, which… I think I liked? Wow it has been so long… I will definitely check that author out again 🙂 Garth Nix is on my TBR list. I’ve never read anything by them, but I definitely want to… eventually ahaha hopefully soon?

    Like

    1. I would start with Sabriel by him and read the original trilogy in the Old Kingdom. I think that gives you what his writing style is and his world building. If you do audio books, I highly suggest those because they’re narrated by Tim Curry. I read part of Sunshine in high school, but I don’t think I understood it at the time. I’ll have to give it another try.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohhhh I’m always open for audiobook suggestions!! Thank you! I think I’ll be able to get to them quicker now ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No problem. You’ll love them for sure. There are different people for the two newer books, but they’re still worth a shot

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bebe says:

    I just started the Shannara series and I am so happy there are so many parts to this world! I’ll need to check out his other stuff also!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right? It’s crazy that he’s been writing in that world for so long. Which book did you start with out of curiosity?

      Like

      1. Bebe says:

        The first – the Sword of Shannara.

        Like

      2. Ah ok. I actually haven’t read that one, but hopefully you like it. I liked the sequel Elfstones. Have you watched the TV show at all?

        Like

      3. Bebe says:

        I have! That’s what sparked my interest in the series initially. I started with the first book and am now on the sequel – Elfstones of Shannara (so you haven’t missed much! lol).
        I liked the show! It is different from the books, but it still works really well I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Right? I think it helped bring a new generation to the story and the costumes, effects and casting choices were great. Can’t wait for the next season

        Like

  3. Oh it’s so cool to see non-German people talking about Cornelia Funke and her books! I didn’t know people outside of Germany actually knew who she was! I’ve also read Inkheart when I was a kid and I definitely need to read more from her too! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yep I found Inkheart a book fair when I was in junior high school 🙂 I didn’t know that her works were translated from German until later. Which book in the trilogy was your favorite?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh god, I honestly barely remember a thing about the books so I don’t know! Probably the first one 😂 yours?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maybe I walked myself into that one too lol. I think I liked all three equally, but I’m planning on doing a re-read soon to find out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah yes, I need to reread these too! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Chelsea says:

    There are some really influential fantasy writers on this list, and I sadly have only read Neil Gaiman’s works. I nearly put him on my list since I have yet to read Norse Mythology, Stardust, Coraline, The Graveyard Book, and the last three volumes of Sandman. Neverwhere is one of my favourite Gaiman works though!

    Like

    1. Good to know. I got a copy of that one a long time ago, need to read that one someday 🙂 I do highly recommend “The Ocean at the End of the Lane”

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m also looking forward to reading some more of Cornelia Funke and Garth Nix’s books in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sweet! Have you read anything by them? If so, which books?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve only read Inkheart by Cornelia Funke but I read it soo long ago that I think I’m going to have to re-read it soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Me too! That trilogy is the only thing I’ve read by her and hope to fix that in the near future 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

