April Wrap Up + May TBR

total books read/listened: 4

ARC:1

Audiobook: 2

library E-book: 1

Didn’t do the best this month. I had a planned vacation and didn’t get as much done, but that’s ok. It was nice to be in warmer weather, spend some time with family and I got pretty sucked into Breath of the Wild. I did get to participate in Tome Topple and I posted a wrap up linked here:

Tome Topple: First Readathon

Other than that, the ratings were  lower this month. But I did finish two books from my April TBR. While I didn’t get a lot done, I’m glad that I read different things and had many different thoughts on them. Any reviews of these books will be linked here so you can check them out.

28398892read from april 3-6

Rating: 2 stars

This was the book I finished the fastest. It was an impulse pick from my OverDrive library selection. I loved the writing, setting, most of the plot and messages. While it didn’t blow me away, I’ll still check out this author’s other works.

Wild Swans Book Review

30760306listened to from april 6-14

Rating: 4 stars

My favorite book this month! This is a great debut novel that shows grief, small town life and one sister’s emotional journey to handling her sister’s death. Go listen to this audio book. This book doesn’t have enough readers 🙂

A Psalm for Lost Girls Audio Book Review

448873listened to April 11 & 18th

Rating: 2 stars

This short book was my audio book to and from vacation. This is a very acclaimed series/author, but man that narrator put me to sleep! I do recommend reading the physical copy or checking out the new audio versions out next month in honor of the new novel coming out.

Mini Review: The Thief

23308087read from april 24-27

Rating: 1 star

Yep…didn’t like it. I appreciated the Japanese setting and the MC’s brother, but this was a mess that felt like a chore to read. If you are dying to read it, I can recommend it but paying full price for it.

Flame in the Mist: ARC Review

may tbr

So…I’m gonna have these very relaxed. Since I’m a mood reader, I still want reading to be fun and not a job. So if I don’t get to all of these, it’s all good. I may not do TBR’s from here on out, but we’ll see what happens 🙂

books to finish

179011252098336218685210(So close on this one…)

audio books

25740412

I’ll be frank: the attacks on this book are ridiclous. People have been “tarred and feathered” this book for simply having a plot where a character is learning how to address and learn about the racism she is taught and grow from that. I highly suggest you read Emily May’s Goodreads review that I feel like shows this book in an honest light. I did read an early sample and enjoyed what I read, so I’m going into it excited.

Emily May’s review of The Black Witch

30255943

25902198 Became available through my library

library books/ARC

2334635820734002306538442371927032670125NetGalley ARC, get to at least 50%

There we have it! I’m hoping this month will better in getting stuff done. All these books have been waiting for me. There are a couple extra I really want to get to, but I’ll leave those a mystery for now and I need to have read/listened to at least 4 items on this list before I can read the extras. Let me know if you’ve read these books, excited for them or never heard of them before. Thanks for stopping by and have a great day guys!

 

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I totally feel you on The Black Witch. I personally am not interested in reading it because I don’t like stories about oppressor redemption (just not for me). But I don’t think it is racist to write a story about a racist character unlearning her prejudice. I think it can open up good classroom discussions for teens! A lot of the conversation around diversity in YA is very Black & white and lacks nuance which is very frustrating. If you read it I’m interested to see your review! I liked Emily Mays review as well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s understandable. I think some people took it way out of context. I like stories about redemption and how people can change and be better; it helps keep my faith in humanity. I’ll definitel do a review soon! 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep! I think it is a matter of taste . And I think it’s unfortunate that the conversation around this stuff is very rigid and nit open to discussion. Looking forward to the review!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s true. Yeah I feel like it’s happening too often 😦 But yeah I’m starting the audio book today! Hopefully it doesn’t me too long to finish it lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am with you 100% on The Black Witch. I’ve noticed this terrible trend on GRs where people totally jump on a bandwagon and utterly wreck a book’s review scores because of things they’ve “heard” about a book. The young woman who wrote the review in question actually seems to take pleasure in going around and pointing out books that she believes are racist in an attempt at inciting the same thing happening again. I saw her do it to “The Traitors Kiss” as well, which also ended up getting its scores derailed. It’s totally unfair. Especially considering that these books that are getting hated on are FANTASY books, that don’t take place in our world. We need to stop insisting that authors sanatize their stories and cultures because we might not agree with something we read in it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Right?! It’s shocking how people believe these reviews. I trust the publishers enough that they would catch anything that would cause a problem during the editing process. I think the sample that I read gave a good atmosphere and set up for the story. I’m glad I’m not the only one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hate that you didn’t like Flame in the Mist. Its one of my most anticipated releases, but I will definitely be going in with reduced expectations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wanted to like it for sure. But I’ll try another thing by her in the future sometime 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

