36254449. sy475 Title: Song of the Abyss (Tower of Winds #2)

Author: Makiia Lucier

Genre: YA Fantasy/Adventure

Release Date: August 27th 2019 from HMH Teen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis: Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.

Never a good sign.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.

But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna’s escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors–her captain, her countrymen–have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.

Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

Blog Tour Schedule

Song of the Abyss Blog Tour 2019

 

About the Author

Makiia is the author of historical fiction and historical fantasy for young adults. She grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam (not too far from the equator), and has degrees in journalism and library science from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her debut novel, A Death-Struck Year, was called a “powerful and disturbing reading experience” by Publishers Weekly, and was a finalist for Germany’s top book prize for children, the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis. Her second novel, Isle of Blood and Stone, was inspired by her love of Indiana Jones movies and old, old maps. She lives with her family in North Carolina.

Website Twitter Facebook Goodreads Instagram

Book Links (Pre-Order or Add to your TBR)

Amazon Book Depository Apple Books Kobo Google Books Barnes & Noble 

Giveaway

There are 3 finished copies up for grabs during this blog tour! Check out all the spots on the tour and also check the Rafflecopter link below! You can win 1 copy per person. It is US only and it runs from August 21st-September 4th 2019. Best of luck everyone!

Rafflecopter

 

Have you read this book yet? Or have you read the first one Isle of Blood and Stone? If so, what did you think of it? Is this on your TBR? Let me know in the comments! Thanks again to the FFBC for these great tours 🙂